What Does Reset Network Settings Do?

Does your Wi-Fi disconnect frequently? Is your Wi-Fi running slower than it used to? Does your VPN fail to connect? All these issues and more can be solved with a simple reset of your network settings on the device giving you issues. Here’s how a network reset works on your PC or mobile phone.

What Does Reset Network Settings Do?

What Does Reset Network Settings Do on an iPhone?

There are a few things that take place when you reset network settings on your iPhone. Your mobile network type switches to default. Therefore, you will have to switch this back after resetting the network settings. This usually means getting new cellular data information from your service provider, usually by following the instructions via MMI codes.

Your saved Wi-Fi networks will also get deleted as well as the passwords, so you should write these down prior to the reset.

Additionally, your Bluetooth devices that were previously paired will be removed and will have to be reconnected. In essence, your device will convert back to its factory, or original, network settings.

Most other settings will not be changed (i.e., hotspot and wireless display). Your personal data will also not be changed. You will not lose notes, photos, videos, contacts, and so on.

Alternatives to Try Before a Reset

Before resorting to resetting your network settings on your iPhone, there are a few alternatives to attempt:

  • You can try turning Airplane mode on and off.
  • You can also power your phone off, then back on.
  • Forgetting your Wi-Fi network and then reconnecting to it can also sometimes fix network issues.
  • If these do not work, you can also try rebooting your modem or router.
  • Finally, you can check to ensure your device is updated to the latest version.

How to Reset Network Settings on iPhone

If none of the “soft” resets solve your issue, and you still wish to reset the network settings on your iPhone, follow the below steps:

  1. Open “Settings.”
  2. Tap “General.”
  3. Choose “Reset.” In some versions, this is “Transfer or Reset iPhone,” then “Reset.”
  4. Select “Reset Network Settings.”
  5. Enter your passcode if prompted.
  6. Tap “Reset Network Settings” again to confirm your choice.

What Does Reset Network Settings Do on Android?

Similar to resetting network settings on iPhones, there are a handful of things that will be affected.

For example, any paired Bluetooth devices will be removed, and you will need to repair them after resetting the settings.

You will also have to adjust your mobile network type back to what you chose previously because the reset will return it to the default setting. Most commonly, you’ll need to grab new cellular data information and access point set-up details from your provider. These usually come in an SMS when you first install the SIM card.

Your Wi-Fi data will be removed as well so it is recommended that you write down the passwords for your important networks to avoid losing them forever.

Like with iPhones, your personal data as well as most other settings will not be affected by this reset.

Alternatives to Try Before a Reset

There are a handful of options you can attempt prior to resetting your network settings on your Android device:

  • First, you want to ensure that your device is updated to the latest version.
  • Next, in your settings, you can toggle Airplane mode on and off, which will sometimes fix the issue.
  • You can also attempt to reset your router rather than the device connected to it. Turning it on and off sometimes fixes the underlying NAT routing.
  • This is also the case with your modem, which you can also attempt to reset.
  • Another option is to power off your device, then turn it back on again.
  • If none of this works, you can try disconnecting your Wi-Fi and then reconnecting to it after a few seconds.

How to Reset Network Settings on Android

Resetting network settings is usually a last resort. Here’s how to perform it on an Android phone:

  1. Open “Settings.”
  2. Go to “System” or “About phone” or “Connections & sharing,” depending on your model.
  3. Choose “Advanced.” If directly in the “Connections screen,” you might be able to skip this.
  4. Tap on “Reset Options” (sometimes spelling out what is being changed).
  5. Select “Reset Network Settings.” You may be able to select which aspects of the network (Wi-Fi, cellular networks, and Bluetooth) to reset individually.
  6. Hit “Reset Settings” to confirm.

Most newer Android builds have a search function in their Settings which can navigate to “Reset Network Settings” directly.

What Does Reset Network Settings Do on PC?

Simply put, resetting network settings on a PC device will restore all Wi-Fi, VPN, and Ethernet settings to their factory, default state. It will also change the Bluetooth, Network, and Bluetooth settings back to their original states. It will basically delete all this information, then reinstall them.

When you turn your PC back on after resetting the network settings, you will need to reconnect your Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, and VPN devices, so it is important to write down any associated passwords. Like resetting network settings on iPhones and Androids, your personal data and files will not be touched or affected in any way.

Alternatives to Try Before a Reset

Prior to restoring network settings to factory status, there are a few ideas to try on PC just like on iPhones and Androids.

First, you can check to ensure the internet is working okay on other devices. If it is, you can be certain that it is your computer giving the issue and not the internet itself. You can also attempt to reset the router and modem devices.

If this does not work, you can turn your PC off and back on to see if the issue fixes itself. At times, leaving your PC on for too long can cause issues to occur. Finally, ensure that your device is updated and that all updates for your device applications are installed as well.

How to Reset Network Settings on a PC

If you need to reset your PC’s network settings, here’s what you need to do:

  1. Open “Start” then go to “Settings.”
  2. Click on “Network & Internet.”
  3. Select “Status” from the left side of the screen.
  4. Click on “Network Reset.”
  5. Click the “Reset Now” button.
  6. Click “Yes” to confirm.

FAQ

Why did these steps not fix my Wi-Fi speed?

There is a chance that these steps will not improve the internet speed on your device. There could be a few reasons for this.

One could be that you have a slower Wi-Fi package than your data needs, and you may need to upgrade. You can do this by contacting your service provider.

Another reason that your Wi-Fi could still be slow could be that there are too many unauthorized people using your network. To avoid this, change your password as soon as you reset your network settings to something you will remember, but is hard to guess. An example would be a password with a combination of capital letters, lowercase letters, numbers, and symbols.

Will my passwords for Wi-Fi be deleted in this process?

Yes. It is recommended that you write down all passwords for Wi-Fi networks as they will be deleted when resetting your network settings.

Will my personal data be affected?

None of your personal data (i.e., photos, videos, files, etc.) will be affected during this process. They will not be deleted or altered in any way.

Is resetting my network settings safe?

Yes. This process will not harm your device in any way. It will only reset network settings to their default state.

Are device reset and network reset the same thing?

No. These are two completely different processes. While this article focuses on network resetting, it is very important to know that device resetting will reset your entire device to factory settings thus causing you to lose the personal data on your device.

You’re All (Re)Set

Resetting your network settings on your device should be a last resort. There is a plethora of alternatives one can take prior to resetting their network settings (i.e., powering your device off and on, rebooting your router or modem, etc.). However, resetting your network settings is completely safe and you will not lose any personal data along the way.

Do you have problems that resetting network settings didn’t fix? Let us know how you fixed your issue in the comments below.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*